STEVENAGE LEISURE CENTER
ADULT ART CLASS SCHEDULE 2018
£5.00 per a person per session
(this price may rise as set by Stevenage Leisure limited
so please always check with them on 01438 363200 Box Office)
Twice a month I set projects for students details are below, weeks inbetween are for students to set their own projects.

Stevenage Leisure Centre Art Class: 

Monday/Wednesday/Friday: 10am – 12pm.

DATE

PROJECT

MATERIALS

Friday 2nd August

Monday 5th August

Wednesday 7th August

Animals in ink and pencil.
A study of an animal using a mixture of black ink and Pencil drawing.

A3 Cartridge paper, some B pencils for example 2B- 8B, HB pencil, rubber, sharpener, brushes and bottle of ink with water pot/palette. Kim will have ink for sale if you wish to purchase some.

Weeks in between are for your own project

 

 

Monday 19th August –

SPECIAL FULL DAY OPTION
You may stay all day if you wish (£5 per session): 10am – 12pm and then afternoon session is 1pm – 3pm

Water; Reflections and Translucency: Glass Jam-jar with brush.

Working in any of the following mediums: watercolours/ ink/acrylics, students will build up realistic representations of a jam-jar of water with a paint brush.

A3 Cartridge paper, acrylics/ink/watercolours, brushes, paints, palette and water pot.

Weeks in between are for your own project

 

 

(Monday 26th August - BANK HOLIDAY CLOSED)

Wednesday 28th August

Friday 30th August

Water; Reflections and Translucency: Glass Jam-jar with brush.

Working in any coloured medium for example: watercolours/ ink/acrylics, students will build up realistic representations of a jam-jar of water with a paint brush.

A3 Cartridge paper, acrylics/ink/watercolours, brushes, paints, palette and water pot.

Monday 2nd September

Wednesday 4th September

Friday 6th September

Brazilian artists: Students will choose one of the Brazilian artists to either copy or inspire your own art work.
Beatriz Milhazes, 
Fabio Cembranelli, Rodolfo Ledel

A4 Cartridge paper or Watercolour paper, acrylics or watercolours, brushes, paints, palette and water pot.

Weeks in between are for your own project

 

 

Wednesday 25th September

Friday 27th September

Monday 30th September

Perspective:

Working with me on the board students will learn either basic or more complex forms of perspective knowledge.

A number of A3 sheets of drawing paper, ruler, pencil, rubber, sharpener, protractor (voluntary).

Wednesday 2nd October

Friday 4th October

Monday 7th October

Foreshortening Nudes figures:

Working in any medium students will learn about foreshortening and create realistic optical illusions of depth

A3 size paper. Bring suitable paper for the medium you plan to work in:

Here are some suggestions: Pencil/pastel paper and pastels or cartridge and acrylics or watercolour/or inks etc.

Weeks in between are for your own project

 

 

Friday 25th October

Monday 28th October

Wednesday 30th October

 

Water reflections in Acrylics: Exploring landscapes with a strong reflection.

 

Cartridge paper, Acrylics, brushes, palette, water pots etc.

Friday 1st November

Monday 4th November

Wednesday 6th November

 

Bird art works:

Exploring the art works of Jamel Akib (Pastels) Esther Tyson (Acrylics)

Catherine McClung (watercolour/Gold leaf) Liz Myhill (Mixed media). Student may choose an artist to either re-create or inspire an art work.

A3 paper size. Bring suitable paper for the medium you plan to work in.

For example pastel paper and pastels or cartridge and acrylics etc.

Weeks in between are for your own project

 

 

Monday 25th November Wednesday 27th November

Friday 29th November

Landscape Colour combination Studies:

Students will choose one landscape and create in as many (10) different colour combinations as possible during the class. Building a good understanding of colour and how optical illusions of depth can be created using colour contrast.

As many A5 bits of cartridge paper that students feel they will complete. Acrylics, brushes, palette, water pot.

Monday 2nd December

Wednesday 4th December

Friday 6th December

 

Abstract Landscapes:

Exploring the art works of Ed Chesnovitch (Acrylics and oils) Carol Nelson (acrylics and mixed media) Thomas W. Schaller (watercolour) Student may choose an artist to either re-create or inspire an art work.

A3 paper size. Bring suitable paper for the medium you plan to work in.

For example pastel paper and pastels or cartridge and acrylics etc.

Weeks in between are for your own project

 

 

Wednesday 18th December

Friday 20th December

Monday 23rd December

Last session of 2019 – Origami Christmas decorations.

Decorative square sheets of thin paper.

Return after Christmas:

Friday 3rd January

Monday 6th January

Wednesday 8th January 2020

TBA